The Five Pillars of Islam

Islam has a foundational 5 pillars.

In this series, Sheikh Abu Usamah will walk you through each of these pillars to help give a clear understanding of each of the pillars.

The 5 pillars – Introduction

1 – Shahadah

The first pillar of Islam – Shahadah. 

Shahadah is the testimony of faith. 


For a more detailed explanation and to find out the conditions of Shahadah then please do watch our series by Sheikh Navaid Aziz HERE.

2 – Salah


The second pillar of Islam – Salah.

Salah is prayer which is offered five times a day at dawn, noon, mid-afternoon, sunset and evening.

3 – Zakah

In this video Sheikh Abu Usamah talks about the third pillar of Islam – Zakah.

Zakah is the obligatory act upon all applicable Muslims to donate a percentage of their profitable wealth to those in need.

4 – Fasting


The fourth pillar of Islam – Fasting.

Fasting/Sawm is the act of abstaining from food and drink from sunrise to sunset during the month of Ramadan.

5 – Hajj

The fifth pillar of Islam – Hajj.

Hajj is a pilgrimage made to Makkah where a number of rituals are to be made.

Every adult Muslim must undertake the pilgrimage at least the once in their lives if they can afford it and are physically able.